hit a wall with tuning... help would be appreciated

Options
billodell
billodell Posts: 6
edited October 2011 in Car Audio & Electronics
im a total noob and cant tune very well at all...

everything sounds pretty good but its not quite there. any input would be greatly appreciated.

here is my set up

2002 neon

polk db 5251 components mids in the doors and tweets in the cell panels
polk db 1222 subs in polk box

cda-9833

pdx-4.100
pdx-1.1000

hu settings

x-over

low -3 db slope 4 and 63 hz

mid low -3 db slope 4 and 100 hz

mid high -3 db slope 1 and 800 hz

high -4 db slope 1 and 5.0k

5 band p-eq settings

band 1
-3 db 3.0 width 100 hz
band 2
-2 db 3.0 width 315 hz
band 3
-3 db 3.0 width 1.2k
band 4
-2 db 3.0 width 3.2k
band 5
-3 db 3.0 width 16k

4 channel settings

channel 1/2 channel 3/4
gain 10:00 gain 10:00
filter off filter off
x-over 110 hz x-over 120 hz

mono settings

gain noon
gain select 1.0v - 8.0v
lp filter 50 hz
subsonic filter off

i do not use the passive crossover that came with my polks.
also time correction is not set
thanks for taking the time to read this long drawn out thing of mine
Post edited by billodell on

Comments

• arun1963
    arun1963 Posts: 1,797
    edited October 2011
    Options
    billodell wrote: »
    hu settings

x-over

low -3 db slope 4 and 63 hz

mid low -3 db slope 4 and 100 hz

mid high -3 db slope 1 and 800 hz

high -4 db slope 1 and 5.0k

Put the sub on a 24db slope which is the max your hu allows. Try lowering the sub xo point to 50hz. Your mids will have a low pass and a highpass. Set the HP tp the same point as the sub and the LP at around 4khz. Raise the gains on the mids to 0. Set the HP for the tweeter at 4 kz on a 24db slope. The tweet set at -4db from the hu is fine.
    5 band p-eq settings

band 1
    -3 db 3.0 width 100 hz
    band 2
    -2 db 3.0 width 315 hz
    band 3
    -3 db 3.0 width 1.2k
    band 4
    -2 db 3.0 width 3.2k
    band 5
    -3 db 3.0 width 16k