I am Worried... Posiable to blow sub in RTI 100?

Options
blkmax98c
blkmax98c Posts: 26
edited September 2003 in Speakers
Hey guys:

i need to tap into your vast knowledge of audio. i am just a newbie compared to you guys, and i need some help. i bought the polk rti-100's a few months back, and i really enjoy them. but my only gripe with them is that i am a bass man, and i was not getting all the bass i wanted. so my brother gave me sub in trade for my old speakers. so i hooked it up, and bought a very nice sub-cable ($70) and i now more happy with the setup. i have more of the bass i want, but now i have a problem.

now that i have all this bass comming from my seperate sub, i can not hear the bass comming from my polk speakers, and i am worried i may blow them if i put them too loud. when i didn't have my extra sub, i could hear when i was putting too much to the speakers, and i could adjust accordingly. so what should i do? so i just turn off the subs build into my speakers altogether? help!
2003 51 Inch Hitachi Tv
Polk RTI 100 Fronts
Bose Surrounds
Dcm Center
Klh 10 inch Sub
kenwood VR-307 reciever
Sony progessive scan dvd play W/Componet cables
And Wire loom to make things look nice! :)
Click on links to see pics!
245554_87_full.jpg

245554_84_full.jpg
245554_86_full.jpg
Post edited by blkmax98c on

Comments

• Tour2ma
    Tour2ma Posts: 10,177
    edited September 2003
    Options
    I am not sure whether I qualify under the vast knowledge criteria, but WTH...

A few questions first:
    What's the power rating of your amp/ receiver?
    What sub?
    Did you wire your mains through the sub?
    If yes, what is the sub's filter point setting?
    More later,
    Tour...
    Vox Copuli
    Better to remain silent and be thought a fool, than to open your mouth and remove all doubt. - Old English Proverb

"Death doesn't come with a Uhaul." - Dennis Gardner

"It's easy to get lost in price vs performance vs ego vs illusion." - doro