battery and alternator

Systems
Systems Posts: 14,873
edited September 2003 in Car Audio & Electronics
i'm new to both your forum and car audio in general. i was wondering if you could give me some advice on batteries, capacitors, and alternators. right now i'm planning on running the following system. 2-12" audiobahn aw1208t subs, the subs are 2 ohm dual voice coil subs are rated at 1500 w rms and 2000 w peak. im running these with an audiobahn 2300hct amp it's 2 channel, 1 ohm stable amp and i plan on running it at 1200 w x 2.
i'll be using 1/0 guage wiring. the speakers in the cab will be the mm6 6.5" component speakers and 6x9's in the back. these speakers will be run off of some older lanzar amps. i have 2 channel 50 w lanzar optidrive plus amp and a 2 channel 200 w lanzar optidrive plus amp. the deck that i'm looking at is an alpine 9815, rated at 60 w x4. so here are my questions.
1. is this going to destroy my alternator?
2. should i upgrade my battery and alternator?
3. are the lanzar amps worth keeping or should i upgrade those?
4. if i keep the lanzar amps how should i wire them up to the speakers in the cab?
5.what are the benefits of having a capacitor, and will my particular system benefit from one?
6.capacitors are rated in farads, what does this mean and how do i know how many farads i would need?

i will appreciate any help, opinions, and criticism that you have to offer towards my system.
Testing
Testing
Testing
Post edited by Unknown User on

Comments

• PoweredByDodge
    PoweredByDodge Posts: 4,185
    edited September 2003
    1- i am not mommy
    2- this is not school
    3- suggested readings to answer the questions which would require lots of typing (ie "what's a farad")

--- www.the12volt.com