crossover points

Systems
Systems Posts: 14,873
edited September 2003 in Car Audio & Electronics
I just got a pair of mm6 components and a pair of mm12s(the higher grade ones)
i was wondering if anyone could help me with what to cross these over at because im very new to all this stuff and frankly very confused
i have 1 amp for my subs and one amp for the components if that makes any difference?
also...when do i use the low pass/high pass filters?
i dont want hardly any bass going to the components...but I do want enough to where everything will blend well...im kind of into home audio...so i know what i like to hear...but home and car is like day and night from what ive been told so i wanted some 2nd opinions
thank you very much
Testing
Testing
Testing
Post edited by Unknown User on

Comments

• PoweredByDodge
    PoweredByDodge Posts: 4,185
    edited September 2003
    my advice has usually been to set your high pass for the fronts at like 100 to start... your low pass to the subs to about 80 or 85 to start...

play with them a little... but i've found those to be good "start here and mess with it till its good" points.

i run my subs at mid 70's / my rears at 70 high / and my fronts at 100 high... but there are other reasons for that.

try it out at 100 front / 85 rear and fiddle with it -- i'm sure u'll find the mix that's right for you -- may take a few days maybe weeks even if you dont spend much time in the car (u never really knwo if its right till u drive for it with a few days and are happy w/ it). but u'll figure it out.

:)
    The Artist formerly known as PoweredByDodge
  • Systems
    Systems Posts: 14,873
    edited September 2003
    thank you,
    how do you set your front and rears different?
    or do you have a separate amp for your rears?
    this helps out a lot
    also, what is a subsonic filter?
    is it better on or off?
    thank you kim and power....you were a great help
    Testing
    Testing
    Testing
  • PoweredByDodge