Tacoma sound system

chuckde
chuckde Posts: 6
edited September 2003 in Car Audio & Electronics
just bought my first truck, a tacoma, and the sound system could definitely use replacing. since up until now ive been driving my parents cars around, im new to car audio. any suggestions?
Post edited by chuckde on

Comments

• Systems
    Systems Posts: 14,873
    edited September 2003
    Model of truck? The bigger the cab the easier **** is going to be to put in and the more space you can give up, say, for amps or subs. Price range? And what are you looking for? Saying it needs improvement over stock isn't really saying much.
    Testing
    Testing
    Testing
  • PoweredByDodge
    PoweredByDodge Posts: 4,185
    edited September 2003
    you can go cheap --- or you can not go cheap --- that's your call.

also - from personal experience - i forewarn you, while "ripping everything out and going all audio" sounds like a nice idea now, you may end up kicking yourself later.

sometimes - most times - simple yet potent is better than "500 horsepower of audio" if you get my point.
    The Artist formerly known as PoweredByDodge
  • CPHILHOWER
    CPHILHOWER Posts: 343
    edited September 2003
    I have a an Idea. Get a Kicker 2 way Full Range box. The one with the 12" woofers and horn tweeters. Run the (Cant remember the model number) Kicker 250 x2 amp. Get a Metallica cd. And wake the dead!!
    Chris :D
  • MTXMAN
    MTXMAN Posts: 682
    edited September 2003
    personally i've never liked the idea of a full range box... a sub and a tweeter should not be in the same enclosure imho...
    Hemi: (HEM -e) adj. Mopar in type, V8, hot tempered, native to the United States, carnivorous, eats primarily Mustangs, Camaros, and Corvettes. Also enjoys smoking a good import now and then to relax.
  • MTXMAN
    edited September 2003
    btw if it's a 96-03 you could go with mtx thunderform for the sub take a look at...