Newbie Sub questions. What do I really need? DIY or buy?

Options
This is my first real post here, so let me tell you where I'm coming from. I am a university student (read: poor) and last week I made the mistake of going into Circuit City's speaker room to "just look" and found myself coming home with a couple of Polk R15s against my better judgement. :rolleyes: Hooked them up to my Onkyo TX8211 stereo receiver (8ohm, 50W/ch) and suddenly I could hear sounds my old crappy speakers never played. :D Suddenly I started dreaming of 'better speakers' and 'good subwoofer' and all sorts of things I shouldn't be dreaming about.

So I am a chap with entry level speakers who wants a decent budget sub to go with the R15s. My receiver doesn't have a separate sub-out so the speakers will have to be connected thru the sub. Use is purely for music in my bedroom. No DVDs. The bedroom is small - 12x10x9 feet. Concrete walls on 3 sides in basement apartment , 1 wall is a 8 ft wide wood doored closet, wall-to-wall carpet. It is a soft diffusive room.

Another thing is - I don't want loud. I can't play loud music in this apt. Can't make the walls vibrate. Also I am not that concerned about the range as much as quality. Cost is also a big factor. I looked at the subs in CC and saw that the recommended sub for the R15s is PSW202. From reading these forums and other reviews I reckon that the 202 is a bit of a weenie. The bigger ones are too expensive for me. On the other hand, I don't need extreme bass. I don't listen to rap. Mostly jazz and folk and rock. My listening position will be approx. 8 feet from the sub. I don't know what to get.