ben, Face, Vr3m, I've got a few questions for you guys.

JimAckley
JimAckley Posts: 1,138
edited March 2011 in DIY, Mods & Tweaks
Now that ClarityCap has their new ESA line available, I'm redoing the xovers in my HT rig. I wanted to present my plan and see what you guys thought before I buy anything.

For capacitors: I'm going to use the new ClarityCap ESA 250V line in the tweeter circuits. What should I be using in the LF circuits? I'm assuming the ESA's high quality isn't exactly necessary for woofers, but you know what they say about the word assume. If they won't be as beneficial in the woofer circuits, what should I be ordering instead?

What should I be using on the 260 and 500uf? I know some people say leave the 500 alone, but I figured I'd at least toss the idea of replacing it around since I'm about to redo my xovers. I'm not an electrical engineer, but from what I've read, the purpose of it is to act as a high-pass filter. These are some of the options I found:

Parts Express 500uf cap
JJ Electrolytic Capacitor

For resistors, I was thinking of using Duelund in the HF circuits. My only concern is that many of their resistors are only 5w, and I've heard a lot of mention the 5w resistor being a weak point in the LSi crossovers. Should I be looking elsewhere something with a higher capacity?

What should I be looking for in the way of resistors for the LF circuits? For reference sake, the LSi25 uses two 2.0Ω 10w resistors and one 0.5Ω 25w resistor in the LF circuit; the C has one 1.0Ω 5w resistor, and the FX doesn't use any resistors in the LF circuit.

I'm leaving the inductors alone for now.

Thoughts, comments, concerns, questions?
- Computer Rig -
YAΘIN MS-20L, polkaudio RT5

- Main Rig -
Pioneer SC-37, Overnight Sensations, Samsung 52" LCD

- Currently In Progress -
Curt Campbell's Uluwatu LCR, LMS Ultra Gjallarhorn, JBL W15GTi stereo subs, 2.1 entertainment system for the gf
Post edited by JimAckley on

Comments

• VR3
    VR3 Posts: 27,970