Coaxial or Digital?

Options
Lsi9
Lsi9 Posts: 616
edited July 2003 in Speakers
I am sure this has been discussed a lot in the past but here I am a noob bringing it up again

I read somewhere that coaxial is better...so I bought a XO coaxial wire...what are your opinions?

Audio Physic Scorpio II
Pathos Logos
MIT Shotgun S3
Bada HD-22 CDP
Post edited by Lsi9 on

Comments

• Frank Z
    Frank Z Posts: 5,860
    edited July 2003
    Options
    I'm in the coax sounds better camp, but there are a lot of people that say that they can't hear any difference at all. To me the difference was quite noticable, not night and day, but noticable none the less. Kind of like bi-wiring, some claim to hear an improvement, others don't hear any change at all. As with all things audio, sometimes you just gotta try it for yourself and see what you think.
    9/11 - WE WILL NEVER FORGET!! (<---<<click)
    2005-06 Club Polk Football Pool Champion!! :D
  • danger boy
    danger boy Posts: 15,722
    edited July 2003
    Options
    I can't hear a difference myself.. both sound great to me.. coax and optical are both good. I prefer coax over optical only because there seems to be more of them offered. I can only find a limited type of optical ones out there.. where as the coax are so many to choose from.

FYI coax and optical are both digital. I think you meant coax or optical. So many new words and phrases to learn in home audio huh? :p
    PolkFest 2012, who's going>?
    Vancouver, Canada Sept 30th, 2012 - Madonna concert :cheesygrin:
  • Lsi9
    Lsi9 Posts: 616
    edited July 2003
    Options
    Yes I did mean optical lol!

well what it boils down to is delivery of the 1's & 0's

does anyone know how the converting goes on in both of these formats?

Dr. Spec maybe?

Audio Physic Scorpio II
    Pathos Logos
    MIT Shotgun S3
    Bada HD-22 CDP
  • jrausch
    jrausch Posts: 510
    edited July 2003
    Options