Eico ST-70 vintage tube integrated amp restoration/upgrade

124»

Comments

• mhardy6647
    mhardy6647 Posts: 33,548
    edited March 2012
    Just Windex (so far). The printing on these is very sturdy (not so for all vintage hardware!).
    I am not an expert cleaner/cosmetic restorer (that's an understatement).
    There are some good threads on cleaning and restoring at www.audiokarma.org
  • Arsis
    Arsis Posts: 5
    edited March 2012
    I just got an ST-70 (and matching ST-96 tuner) from my dad. The last time he turned it on it was working perfectly (that was 25 years ago). Any precautions I should take before I fire this baby up? I'm so stoked! :cheesygrin:
    Sony KDL-55HX800 55" 3D tv
    Pioneer VSX-1021K Receiver
    Sony PS3
    CS2- Center
    Monitor 70 - Mains
    R50 -Sides
    CS1-Rears
    PSW110- Sub
    All Cherry finish :biggrin:
    Infinite Baffle dual 18s in the works

HEY!! Check out my band on iTunes!!
    http://itunes.apple.com/us/album/world-without-heroes/id448355575
  • mhardy6647
    edited March 2012
    Arsis wrote: »
    I just got an ST-70 (and matching ST-96 tuner) from my dad. The last time he turned it on it was working perfectly (that was 25 years ago). Any precautions I should take before I fire this baby up? I'm so stoked! :cheesygrin:

Here's a reasonable primer for starters -
    http://www.audiokarma.org/forums/showthread.php?t=778
    Also, read through the work that Fongolio's done to his - he did basically what needs to be done. Don't want to discourage you... but it's not gonna be plug and play four-plus decades after its genesis.