installing subs, in need of help

Systems
Systems Posts: 14,873
edited July 2003 in Car Subwoofer Talk
hey everyone, i'm a bit of a newbie to installing subs into cars, to i have a pretty bad idea of what's goingon..
can anyone please refer me to a site that would give me a basic idea on how to do it.. like a step by step tutorial or anything?

any help would be appreciatied.. thanks a million in advance

jason
Testing
Testing
Testing
Post edited by Unknown User on

Comments

• PoweredByDodge
    PoweredByDodge Posts: 4,185
    edited July 2003
    download this...

its great for beginners...

prolly take u 10 minutes to download it on a phone line modem btu its worth the time...

read it cover to back and then come back with any questions...

http://pix.crutchfield.com/CarGuide/CarGuide_72.pdf

NOTE - u should opposite mouse button click on the link, then click "SAVE AS" and save it to your computer, and then open it once its done downloading.

if you just click on it, it'll try to open in your browswer window, and with it being such a large file, it may lock up your browser.
    The Artist formerly known as PoweredByDodge
  • Systems
    edited July 2003
    great thanks ill read it right through
    took me 6 seconds to downoad ;)
    thanks again!
    Testing
    Testing
    Testing
  • Systems
    edited July 2003
    ok, i read through that.. and i still have a couple of questions, if anyone could help me out.

i've heard a couple of different things about how to connect power/audio

first with power, i've heard that i either 1) get power from the deck or 2) get power directly from the battery.. which one is it?

second about the audio signal.. do i either 1) (using RCA plugs), connect the deck directly to the amp using a dedicated LFE output or do i 2) connect to say the rear speaker cables, in which i would need a crossover?

i'm still a little confused! :S

any more help would be great! thanks
    jason
    Testing
    Testing
    Testing
  • Systems