subwoofer location

pandemonium
pandemonium Posts: 7
edited July 2003 in Car Audio & Electronics
I am new to this car audio stuff and I am a little purplexed in understanding where to place a subwoofer in a car. I have consulted with several car audio shops and they have given me mixed opinions (like having the subs fire forward, backwards, down or up). What is the difference and what kind of sound will I get if the subwoofer and box is firing rearward as opposed to forward (or up or down)? I was considering placing my subs on the rear deck of my car firing up just like the '66 fastback Mustang in the Polk gallery. Is this advisable, and what kind of sound will I get? Some shops have advised me against this way, but I am looking of sound quality, and I do not want the bass locked in the trunk of my car. I want to use a sealed box. Any advice and help from fellow Polk enthusiasts would be greatly appreciated.
Post edited by pandemonium on

Comments

• Jstas
    Jstas Posts: 14,804
    edited July 2003
    Experiment.

Place the sub facing whatever way it sounds best you.
    Expert Moron Extraordinaire

You're just jealous 'cause the voices don't talk to you!
  • PoweredByDodge
    PoweredByDodge Posts: 4,185
    edited July 2003
    dude, do what i did in the "landboat" --

i used 2 8's but a single 10 would work fine... actually better... anyway, cut a 10" diameter hole in your rear deck... or a 6 x 10 square hole or whatever is suitable to give a good size opening clsoe to the size of the sub but not going to make u're deck look ****.

then put a grille or carpet over that hole (thin speaker grille carpet).

then build a sealed box for your sub and moutn the sub in it...

you will then one way or another get that sub box to sit just about an inch or two below that cutout hole (box goes in the trunk, sit it just beneath the hole). and have it fire straight up through the hole.

get the idea?