2009 Ranger upgrade advice

Marlboro_Man
Marlboro_Man Posts: 12
edited November 2010 in Car Audio & Electronics
Hi there,

I'm pretty new to car audio. I have been reading up online trying to get a handle on things. I use polk everything in my HT setup and really like the polk product. Anyways here are the details:

2009 Ford Ranger, regular cab, four banger. Only upgrade I have made was to a pioneer deh-5000ub head unit. Thats it.

I'm looking for sound quality. I listen to rock mostly but there is some rap and heavy metal in there as well. I don't need to wake the neighbors.

I would like to install a set of component speakers, a sub and an amp. I'm a pretty handy guy, building a box for a sub and installing a couple tweeters in my door panels is well within my abilities. Obviously, I am dealing with a small space in the cab of this truck. I originally thought of going fairly basic with the 5 1/4 DB components with the 8" DB sub in a sealed box. However, with the size of the cab and the fact that I would install the tweeters in the door panels anyway, maybe I should just go with a set of coaxials in the doors and a sub behind the seat. Would it make all that much of a difference? Coaxials would also take the crossovers out of the equation.

The one component I am not too sure of is the amp. I see that 4 channel amps can be set up to run front speakers and bridged to run a sub. I would like to run a polk amp. Not sure what size to go with. I have also read about people running the front speakers off the HU alone and getting a mono amp for the sub.

Pretty much a blank canvas. Just wanted to get some different points of view before I dropped any coin.
Polk RTi8's
Polk CSi3
Polk FXi A4's
PSW505
Pioneer VSX-1017TXV-K

Samsung 67" LED
Post edited by Marlboro_Man on

Comments

• messiah
    messiah Posts: 1,790
    edited November 2010
    I'd say upgrade to an f-150. :wink: