Bluetooth head unit for music/phone

mdaudioguy
mdaudioguy Posts: 5,165
edited October 2010 in Car Audio & Electronics
My first post in the car audio section... yay! :)

I'm in the market for a replacement head unit and I'd like Bluetooth built in. Are any of these units optimized for hands-free phone use? Do any of them have a separate mic, or do they just rely on the phone to pick up your voice? I know they're all compatible with streaming music from my smartphone, but I'm also concerned about their functionality for phone use, since MD will be requiring hands-free soon. I have no experience with this. TIA.
Post edited by mdaudioguy on

Comments

• PerfectCreature
    PerfectCreature Posts: 1,456
    edited August 2010
    The majority of them that are bluetooth ready do have a mic, but they are just average, some people have luck with the mic and some do not.
    If you are looking for a cheap one that does that Crutchfield I believe has the Clarion CZ500 on sale for 150 and KaosTsoc has one as well, that he could let go fro around 75-80.
    Receiver
    Harman Kardon HK 3490
    Speakers
    Polk Audio Monitor 50s
    Subwoofer
    Klipsch KSW-100
    Cables
    AudioQuest Rocket 33s 10ft
    AudioQuest Optilink1 2m
    AudioQuest Alpha-Snake 25ft Interconnect
    AudioQuest HDMI-1 2m

Alienware X51 R2
    PS4
    Samsung Smart TV 40" 1080p 3D
  • mdaudioguy
    edited August 2010
    Thanks. I've been looking at Crutchfield, since they include installation accessories and harnesses too. Well, I have to buy the harness, but plug and play makes it all easier. That, and I can get $50 Crutchfield cards for $40 from Discover Cashback!
  • exalted512
    exalted512 Posts: 10,735
    edited August 2010
    whats your budget?
    -Cody
    Music is like candy, you have to get rid of the rappers to enjoy it
  • mdaudioguy
    edited August 2010
    Mmm, probably in the 200's, if that will do it.