Need Advice(new to car audio)

Options
castilloa08
castilloa08 Posts: 1
edited May 2010 in Car Audio & Electronics
Alright im new to car audio and new to this forum. I'm looking for advice about what amp/sub size to get for my 03 honda accord lx. As of right now i have a Kenwood KDC-X492 head unit, PA500.4 amp, DB691 Rears, and DB6501. Im looking for something that will hit good but nothing to crazy. any advice or recommendations would be greatly appreciated
Post edited by castilloa08 on

Comments

• Jstas
    Jstas Posts: 14,751
    edited May 2010
    Options
    For the sub, go with a DB series sub. If you can cram a 12" in the trunk without much problem, go with that. Otherwise, get a 10". An 8 inch sub is really a compromise for space considerations.

If you're not looking for big boom, a single sub will do. The DB series is fairly efficient and sensitive so it won't really need big power either. You can get a dual voice coil (DVC) sub too if you want but for a novice, I'd recommend a single voice coil (SVC) sub of the 4 ohm variety.

For power, get the PA400.1. It will keep everything looking the same and since they are all part of the same lines of speakers and amps, they will be voiced similarly.

Adding a pre-fab box from like Q-Logic or whatever Crutchfield is selling these days plus an amp wiring kit and you should be able to get out of it for less than $400.

Oh, for space reasons, I'd get a sealed enclosure for the sub. They are smaller and more accurate in sound reproduction versus ported enclosures which can get boomy and not perform as well. Ported enclosures really need to be custom built to get the proper performance out of them. Sealed enclosures are much more forgiving in that respect and much better of an option for a novice.