Science behind enclosure volume

Options
MichaelC
MichaelC Posts: 1
edited October 2008 in Car Subwoofer Talk
Hello all - yes I'm a newbie seeking enlightment :)

- I'm interested in designing a special enclosure for a small convertible with no usuable deck behind the rear seat.
- I'm considering a custom enclosure which straddles the transmission hump in the rear floorboard.
- I'd like to mount a pair of 6x9 3-way speakers on their long edge, aimed up toward their respective windows (comments on angle?).
- I'd like to mount an 8" sub-woofer directly over the hump, pointed up and tilted toward the back (comments on angle?).
- I'm assumming three separate enclosed airspaces, of the recommended volume for each of the three speakers to minimize overall console size.
- I understand that the recommended enclosure volume includes the volume occupied by the mounted speaker.
- From looking at the various enclosures on the polk site, it appears that the recommended enclosure volume is (at least somewhat) independent of the overall enclosure shape.

== Big Question - Help Needed ==
- I'm looking for the science, the relationship between the enclosure volume and the enclosure shape, because I want to minimize the overall three speaker enclosure size *and* maximize the aesthetics. Perhaps the shapes of the three speaker enclosures can be "interwoven" to meet these objectives?

- For instance, if I designed an enclosure consisting of a box which is a form fit for a speaker, plus a "dead" soda straw of sufficient length (i.e. additional volume) to meet the overall recommended enclosure volume; would this work?

- I suspect it would not. I suspect there is also a "minimum straw diameter" related to the maxumum instantaneous air compression due to the cone movement, i.e. a relationship between the rate of cone movement and the rate of air compression for the *entire* recommended enclosure volume such that the cone movement isn't impeded.