Newbie - my stereo, comments?

nadnerb5
nadnerb5 Posts: 6
edited May 2003 in 2 Channel Audio
Hi everyone, I'm brand spanking new to this forum and to home stereo stuff. I figured this would be a good spot to post what I just picked up for my room. I was possibly thinking about adding a sub but my amp doesn't have a sub channel... I'm pretty new to home stereo stuff, but I learn fast.

Anyhow, this is what im rocking -

Adcom GTP-400 preamp
Adcom GFA-545 II amp (100x2)
Pair of Polk LS 70 towers.

Monster cables in the rear going to the towers and Jesoteric Audio patch cables.

18418078-73fa-02000180-R.jpg

I know, they are real close together, I need to redesign my room to spread them out.

Also, I need to get a decent CD player. most of the time I have it hooked up through a headphone to RCA jack setup. Argh.

Thanks for checking it out.
Adcom Amp and Preamp powering some Polk LS70 towers

VWs are my car of choice, ask me about my rabbit if you're interested!
Post edited by nadnerb5 on

Comments

• F1nut
    F1nut Posts: 49,708
    edited April 2003
    nadnerb,

Welcome to the forum.

Looks like you're off to a good start. As you realize, get some distance between the speakers and toe them in a little, get a new source (a sub can wait) and if i may, get your power gear off of the speakers. They don't like the vibs from the drivers, it colors the music. I think you'll soon be in audio heaven. :D

F1

BTW, is that chair a Chippendale or Queen Anne style wing back?
    Political Correctness'.........defined

"A doctrine fostered by a delusional, illogical minority and rabidly promoted by an unscrupulous mainstream media, which holds forth the proposition that it is entirely possible to pick up a t-u-r-d by the clean end."

President of Club Polk

• nadnerb5
    edited April 2003
    I do believe it is a Queen Anne, after doing a bit of research on google. (Learn something new everyday)