UPS for power supply?

Options
amac11
amac11 Posts: 4
Hi, all. I'm new to Club Polk. Just got my RM7600 a few weeks ago. I like them. I was not permitted to get the RTI70s I wanted but these will do. They make good use of my HK AVR225's 55 w/ch.

I was reading the posts about using a dedicated circuit and the PS Audio power ports. I plan to run a new circuit soon and was wondering if anyone uses a UPS for their HT setup. Not so much for the battery backup but for the power condiitoning. Does this make any difference? Is it worthwhile, or should I just use the power ports? Should I use the UPS and a power port?

Also what UPS would be best. APC makes some good ones, I think. Any input is appreciated. Thanks.

Andrew
Post edited by amac11 on

Comments

• eulogyt00l
    eulogyt00l Posts: 45
    edited April 2003
    Options
    Hi, welcome to Club Polk! I did some checking into UPS a few months ago but I didn't think that they did enough line conditioning at all. So I got a Monster Power HTS-5100 and that thing is PERFECT. It's about the size of a tape deck (much, much smaller than a UPS) and it is strictly built for voltage monitoring and line conditioning. It is a little more expensive than a normal UPS but I got it on Ebay for about $400. which is a really good deal. Because the 5100 series is right at top of the line, and if you don't want to spend that much you could always go with a lower series. So you might want to look into something like that as an alternative unless you really want the 5min backup feature.
    Our Fathers are models for God. If our fathers bailed, what does that tell you about God?
    --Tyler Durder--
  • amac11
    edited April 2003
    Options