Hey Paul..found your answer (2ch/ht problem)

organ
organ Posts: 4,969
edited March 2003 in 2 Channel Audio
If you're still planning on getting a dedicated 2ch pre and still do HT in the same rig like you mentioned before, this link will definetely help.

And kill two birds with one stone we shall.....

www.hometheaterforum.com/htforum/showthread.php?threadid=128292

The answer lies in post #19 and 20

Enjoy

Maurice
Post edited by organ on

Comments

• pjdami
    pjdami Posts: 1,894
    edited March 2003
    Thanks Maurice.

I'll have to read that article again tomorrow when I'm not as sleepy. Read it twice but didn't quite get how the 5.1 output of the receiver would go through the preamp. I'm a little surprised that a lot of the folks on that forum believe that the pre-amp is more important than the amp as far as the "character" of the sound. I would have thought the amp and speakers were more important than the pre-amp but I'm just learning about this seperates purist mode of listening to two channel. Right now my Yammer sounds pretty good as a pre/pro in direct mode to the C270. I can't imagine how much better the C160 would be with the C270!

My LSi 9's are in town and I should get them tomorrow. Can't wait to get them playing and broken in.

I picked up a Rotel RCD 961 cd player this weekend to replace my aging Denon DCD 690 (eight years old) cd player I had. It was a tough call between it and the cd player you have, the NAD 541i. I got the Rotel $50 cheaper because it was a barely used (30 hrs playtime) demo unit. The Rotel sounds awesome but I am second guessing the 18 bit DAC in the Rotel versus the 24 bit in the NAD. Not sure if I'm up to speed on all of this stuff but Rotel and NAD both make great gear. I have 3 weeks to return the Rotel if anyone can persuade me that the 24 bit DAC is the way to go. I can get the C541i for $50 more and brand new. Both players have received very good reviews.