Options
2»

Comments

• bernardo
    bernardo Posts: 120
    edited January 2008
    Options
    Phasearray wrote: »
    Nice write up! I admit that I need to go back and read my DSP stuff. Haven't touched the stuff since I graduated several years ago. so what do you have against Nyquist?
    Well thank you. Glad you liked it ;) Nothing against Nyquist. In fact, that is how I learned it. But some people call it differently...
    Phasearray wrote: »
    My shallow understanding of DSP from an undergrad level is,

Correlation - comparing two signals. If you have two identical signals and you correlate them, the result is the maximum applitude, this is also refer to as the match filter. If you have two very different signals and you correlate them, the result is a very low signal. So when you correlate two signals and the result is a high amplitude, you can say that the two signals are faily alike or very different of the resulting amplitude is low.

Fourrier Transform - Concept is fairly easy to understand. Suppose I've sampled a single frequency signal. I have no idea what frequency it is. To figure out the frequency of the signal I "correlate it to other frequencies" Suppose I'm sampling a 1KHZ sine wave. When I correlate it to a 1 hz, 200 hz, and 5KHZ sine wave, the resulting amplitude is low. When I correlate that 1Khz Sinewave to another 1Khz sine wave or something close (999 Hz, 1001 Hz, etc) the resulting amplitude is high. This process of comparing my signal to a bunch of different frequencies is call fourrier transform. Fast Fourrier Transform(FFT) is just a computer optimized way of doing this.