Stacked 2 subs and was worst!

Govnah
Govnah Posts: 12
I have two PSW150s in each corner, but I read where it is recommended to stack them together in a corner, which I did and it killed my bass. Am I missing somethin here? What is the phase switch for? Any advice?

TIA
Post edited by Govnah on

Comments

• Dr. Spec
    Dr. Spec Posts: 3,780
    edited February 2003
    Check the phase switch - are they set the same? Set them both to 0 if they are close to the main speakers.
    "What we do in life echoes in eternity"

Ed Mullen (emullen@svsound.com)
    Director - Technology and Customer Service
    SVS
  • Govnah
    edited February 2003
    Dr. Spec if I set tem both the same it is horrible, but If I set one to "REV" and the other to "Norm" it is much better and my Freq is set to "90" and on my pre-amp for my subs. I'm new to this so pardon the ignorance. Dr. Spec is this correct way to set this up? Also, my subs are 14' away from the front speakers. You also metioned in another post about a "Frequency response sweep" and sound meter. Where can I get that file to burn to a cd and what should I do. Like what am I looking for with the above.

TIA
  • Dr. Spec
    edited February 2003
    How do you have the subs wired? Speaker level? It seems like there might be a wiring mistake if the subs sound much better with one run in REV and the other NORM. Also, how are your speakers electronically set up in the preamp? Let's investigate this first before we move on.

SVS
  • RuSsMaN
    RuSsMaN Posts: 17,987
    edited February 2003
    Agreed, if they are stacked, and one is set in reverse phase (180), they should be cancelling each other out more or less.

Why are they so far away from the mains?

Cheers,
    Rooster
    Check your lips at the door woman. Shake your hips like battleships. Yeah, all the white girls trip when I sing at Sunday service.
  • Govnah
    edited February 2003