Here's what's eating at me . . .

Options
ncstatesman
ncstatesman Posts: 145
edited November 2001 in Technical/Setup
I'm a newbie to HT and I finally finished setting up my new HT system - an Onkyo 898 w/RM7600 & PSW650 sub. As recommended, I ran my Front L/R spkr wires from the rcvr to the 650 and from the 650 to the L&R fronts spkrs with the correct settings on the fronts ('large'), Sub (no), etc, etc. I also used 12awg for everything. Then, armed with an SPL meter, I went through the Onkyo calibration process and everything sounds great.

Between the 650 sub and the 898 rcvr there are countless settings and combinations there of . . . . .so here's my obsession . . TO KNOW THAT I'M GETTING THE BEST POSSBLE SOUND FROM MY SYSTEM!!! I guess that's have the fun. I'm going to start playing with the Avia calibration DVD to help me out.

Just wanted to share that with others and see what comments or suggestions I'd get
Post edited by ncstatesman on

Comments

• Micah Cohen
    Micah Cohen Posts: 2,022
    edited November 2001
    Options
    This is our constant bane, eh?

AVIA will help, but sooner or later you're just going to have to chain yourself to your HT couch and decide that YES, I AM GETTING THE BEST POSSIBLE SOUND I CAN GET. Otherwise (like many of us) you'll be all fidgety thru movies and stuff thinking more about how the sound is than about the movie experience itself. Plus, you'll peeve everyone else off if you're up and jumping around resetting things and adjusting levels and stuff all thru movies.

If you have the wires running to the right places, and you have the basic settings set on the receiver -- the listening position timings and the bass management issues all settled -- and you do your little SPL calibration with the test tones, and you calibrate your TV with the AVIA... And it looks and sounds okay to you, you should be fine. FINE, I SAY!

Still...

ARG. I am empathizing. (As I'm sure we all are.)

MC
    ultramicah@yahoo.com