Stupid LSi15 HK525 Question

Options
tnathan
tnathan Posts: 22
edited February 2003 in Speakers
I am a newbie so please don't flame me. I have an HK 525 (70watts per channel in 7.1 mode) , and a Polk rm7500 with a PSW 650. I wanted to add LSi15's as fronts to give me some presence and finish off the system. I hoped this would turn my system into a small classical music concert hall.

I see on here that others have opined that you need a bigger amp with higher watts capable of plyaing into 4 ohms. I could buy a bigger receiver. I could buy a big 200watts/channel 7.1 amp and run everything out from the pre-amp outputs. However, I assume this will cause problems for the rm7500 which I don't believe is rated for 200 watts/channel.

I had an another idea but since no one else has thought of it I assume it won't work. The Lsi15's have a bi amp input. How about running the high end direct off of the receiver powered connection (70 watts per channel) and then add a bridged 2x100 amp to power the low end. Would this give me an effective 170 watts/ per channel? Would there be a sound quality issue? Would the ballance or sonic image be off? It seemed like a nice cheap idea which would reduce the chance that I over power the rm7500 while giving the lsi's the power they need to shine.

What do you think?
Post edited by tnathan on

Comments

• phuz
    phuz Posts: 2,372
    edited February 2003
    Options
    It's not really about wattage. You could get a Sony "200 wpc" receiver and try to run those LSi's all day and it'll sound terrible.

The H/K AVR-525 will do a moderately good job of driving those LSi's - much better than any low cost '200 watt' receiver. But if you want optimal sound you might want to think about investing in a 2ch amp for the LSi's like I did and eventually a pre/pro.