1986 speakers - Monitor 5's?

Options
uchuujin
uchuujin Posts: 3
edited September 2007 in Vintage Speakers
I'm a newbie to this forum, having come here to find out about replacing a bad driver in one of a pair of speakers I bought in 1986. This forum has revived an old passion, but I've forgotten a lot of the "technics", so I'd like to ask some questions... a little bit about history and a little bit about the technical stuff.

The original booklet that came with these speakers calls them the "Model 5", but I'm assuming that's what people call the "Monitor 5"... Right? On the label of the MW 6502 driver are 4 check boxes. These are "M4", "M5 jr.", "M5", and "M7". The M5 box is checked on mine. The date on the label says "Jan 28, 1985".

As for the MW 6502 driver that has frozen up, I order 2 new ones. One still works, but I wondered if it may be slow or have lost something, so in the interest of having a balanced pair, I bought two. Anyway, I figured it would also be good to have a spare.

As for the tweeters, these are SL2000's. I've read a lot of posts in this forum about people who have replaced these with the RD0194, and common consensus seems to be that this gives better results. (Anybody disagree?) I asked about ordering those too, but it seems they don't ship them anymore. The lady at Polk told me the general recommendation is to replace any component with the same thing and that, if a component is working, not to replace it at all. (Anybody disagree?) Anyway, if I were going to replace the SL2000's, what would be the ones to go with? I believe this also has a bearing on the crossover installed... Right?