monitor 5 8" passive radiator question

Options
hpc
hpc Posts: 5
edited July 2007 in Vintage Speakers
Hi all. I posted a request to help identify a pair of monitor 5's last week, and I have finally gotten around to hooking them up.

One of the speakers (the 8") doesn't work. I pulled the speaker out, and saw there was no wire attached to it, I thought I had found the cause (yeah, I'm a noob).

I took the 8" speaker out of the other monitor and saw ta daaaa no wire (OK lesson learned).

So my question is:
Do I need to replace one of the transistor looking parts?

The one that is working sounds great, I'd love to get both of them up and running.

Thanks for any help you can provide with this. And please feel free to move this post if I've started it in the wrong part of the forum.
Post edited by hpc on

Comments

• RuSsMaN
    RuSsMaN Posts: 17,987
    edited July 2007
    Options
    Are the midwoofers working as they should? With the rig powered off, and a light press on the 8 inch passive radiator - does the midwoofer move outward on the speaker in question?

A locked driver will still play in some intances, but with uber limited excursion.

Air leaks? Are all drivers tightened down? The cabinet needs a good seal for the PR (passive radiator) to function properly.

Welcome to the boards.

Cheers,
    Russ
    Check your lips at the door woman. Shake your hips like battleships. Yeah, all the white girls trip when I sing at Sunday service.
  • danger boy
    danger boy Posts: 15,722
    edited July 2007
    Options
    press on the surround on the 6 1/2" mid bass driver and see if it makes any sound.. if it's bad, the sound would be scratchy and not move easily. if it's good. it will move freely and no sound should be heard.

Or you can do as Russman said.. and press on the passive and see if the mid bass driver moves out then slowly goes back inward.
    PolkFest 2012, who's going>?
    Vancouver, Canada Sept 30th, 2012 - Madonna concert :cheesygrin:
  • hpc