Placement of 404 Sub

Options
Ken1222
Ken1222 Posts: 17
Hello - Have a 404 Sub with Onkyo TSR 600. TV and equipment is housed in wood entertainment center. Room is 13 x 17.

My question is...the side of the entertainment ctr that I want to place the sub has a wall air vent 1 foot from the floor. Is it OK to put my sub about two feet from this vent? I am concerned about the heat blowing on the sub. I called Polk and they said dont worry about it.

Also, what's all this about a hum? I havent hooked anything up yet and am wondering if I made a mistake with a Polk sub as opposed to something else that does not hum.

Thanks
Post edited by Ken1222 on

Comments

• MxStYlEpOlKmAn
    MxStYlEpOlKmAn Posts: 2,116
    edited January 2003
    Options
    Listen to polk, and dont worry about it. I have no experience with polk subs, but plug it in and find out! LOL!
    Damn you all, damn you all to hell.......
    I promised myself
    No more speakers. None. Nada. And then you posted this!!!!
    Damn you all! - ATC
  • TonyPTX
    TonyPTX Posts: 545
    edited January 2003
    Options
    Originally posted by Ken1222
    My question is...the side of the entertainment ctr that I want to place the sub has a wall air vent 1 foot from the floor. Is it OK to put my sub about two feet from this vent? I am concerned about the heat blowing on the sub. I called Polk and they said dont worry about it.

I believe Polk is the wise person here. Physically I doubt having the vent blowing on sub will affect the operating limitations of the unit. Not sure how it will affect the performance of the unit though. If space/ergonomics is not a limitation, try putting the sub in a few different places to see where it sounds best.
    Also, what's all this about a hum? I havent hooked anything up yet and am wondering if I made a mistake with a Polk sub as opposed to something else that does not hum.