Y-adapter for subwoofer?

Options
Hey all,
I just picked up a Polk RM6000 system to hook up to my Pioneer VSX-D711 receiver. The receiver has a mono subwoofer out but the subwoofer has a stereo input. (I'm ignoring Polk's recommendation about running front speakers through the sub). What gives. I've heard some people say to use a mono cable and just hook it into either the left or right input on the sub and others say to use a y-adapter. anyone have any ideas on this???:confused:

thanks
Post edited by Viper04112 on

Comments

• Viper04112
    Viper04112 Posts: 3
    edited December 2002
    Options
    ...and if i do use a y-adapter would i be just a standard one thats used to convert mono RCA patch cables to stereo or is it something fancy since this is a subwoofer cable. (Sorry if i seem like such a newbie here :)

thanks
    happy holidays
  • MxStYlEpOlKmAn
    MxStYlEpOlKmAn Posts: 2,116
    edited December 2002
    Options
    y adapter for sub, is to use 2 subs with one output i think*
    Damn you all, damn you all to hell.......
    I promised myself
    No more speakers. None. Nada. And then you posted this!!!!
    Damn you all! - ATC
  • gidrah
    gidrah Posts: 3,049
    edited December 2002
    Options
    Subs have dual voice coils and using the Y allows you to use both. That's what I'd do.
    Make it Funky! :)
  • shiu
    shiu Posts: 169
    edited December 2002
    Options