large or small, that is the question

nellis8166
nellis8166 Posts: 292
another question about setting large or small speaks on your receiver.
when setting to small am i going to lose any volume or range??? it just seems a shame to me to have those beautiful new LSI's and not use their whole freq response capabilities.
sorry if this is a stupid question, i am relatively new to this game, but i am addicted and can't stop!!!

my setup
LSI9 mains
LSIC center
RTi 28 surrounds and rears
infinity entra 2 sub
RTi10
CSi5
RTi28
SVS PB12-ISD2

Denon 2106(pre/pro)
Adcom 5503(200x3)

Audioquest Diamondback ICS
Kimber Kable 8tc biwire(mains and center)

"Don't let your silly dreams fall in between the crack of the bed and the wall."
-J. James
Post edited by nellis8166 on

Comments

• Frank Z
    Frank Z Posts: 5,860
    edited December 2002
    Nellis,
    It's not a stupid question, lots of people get a little confused about this subject.

Set them to small, this will allow the Low Frequency Effects (LFE) to be sent to the sub. The Lsi9 has a frequency response of 38hz to 27Khz, so leaving set to large will deprive you of the the low-end rumble that you expect from your sub. If your receiver or Amp/pre-amp are capable, set your crossover to 80hz. You will not loose any volume, you'll just be sending the low frequencies to speaker that is better equiped to handle it.

Hope this helps.
    9/11 - WE WILL NEVER FORGET!! (<---<<click)
    2005-06 Club Polk Football Pool Champion!! :D
  • nellis8166
    edited December 2002
    frank, that is what i am going to try next. thank-you for the info, checked out your webpage, nice setup!
    my amp has a crossover selection with the speakers on small at 80, 100, 120, and 200. do you think 80 is the best? once i set it, should i just adjust the sub's gain accordingly???
    i know the best way is to test, but it helps getting advice from somebody who knows what they are talking about. thanks frank!!
    RTi10
    CSi5
    RTi28