bass managment issues???

nellis8166
nellis8166 Posts: 292
im new to this so be gentle.
want to be audiophile trying so put together a nice system one piece at a time.
recently upgraded to a HK AVR 525.
earlier this week was able to purchase LSI9's and LSIC, using RTI28s as surrounds until i get the cash to replace them.
anyway, having a hard time getting the proper balance and settings.
large or small and what should the crossover be set at???
cd's lack in bass, but dvd's acceptable. looking to get a nice balance for the two.
biggest question is what should the large or small speakers settings be set at and what should the crossover be set at? i like strong bass, but not overpowering. using an infinity entra 2 sub.
i know that testing is the best way to find the best setting, but does anybody want to share similar experiance???

thanks
nat
RTi10
CSi5
RTi28
SVS PB12-ISD2

Denon 2106(pre/pro)
Adcom 5503(200x3)

Audioquest Diamondback ICS
Kimber Kable 8tc biwire(mains and center)

"Don't let your silly dreams fall in between the crack of the bed and the wall."
-J. James
Post edited by nellis8166 on

Comments

• MxStYlEpOlKmAn
    MxStYlEpOlKmAn Posts: 2,116
    edited December 2002
    I run all my speakers at small, I run my crossover at 75 hz. Subwoofer volume at half way. My treble at -1. My LFE on DTS at +2, and my Bass regulary set at 0
    Damn you all, damn you all to hell.......
    I promised myself
    No more speakers. None. Nada. And then you posted this!!!!
    Damn you all! - ATC
  • nellis8166
    nellis8166 Posts: 292
    edited December 2002
    sid,
    what are you using for a amp/receiver??? where to you have your sub placed??? right now mine is on to the right and behind of the main right speak in a corner. it's in a corner and only about 3 inches from the wall. thinking about moving it out more because heavy bass seems boomy. any ideas???
    RTi10
    CSi5
    RTi28
    SVS PB12-ISD2

Denon 2106(pre/pro)
    Adcom 5503(200x3)