To bypass or not to bypass?

Options
Coblio
Coblio Posts: 13
edited November 2006 in DIY, Mods & Tweaks
While I don't qualify as a speaker-tweaking expert, I have designed and built two studio monitor systems from scratch I've been quite pleased with; I gave one pair to a musician friend for his home studio and he and his fellow geetar pickers were impressed enough to request two more pairs. My main interest, however, is rebuilding and upgrading older commercial systems with modernized drivers and crossovers--vintage Klipsch, Polk, Celestion and Advents to date.

There's a ton of data out there regarding the benefits of bypassing large-value crossover caps (I mostly use Solens, though I plan to go with Black Gate bi-polar 'lytics in my next project) with small-value audiophiliac metallized film and film/foil caps. There are certainly many manufacturers willing to sell high-priced caps specifically for this purpose, and reams of published data that demonstrates their superior performance, at least on paper.