WTB - Plate amp for subwoofer project

Options
DollarDave
DollarDave Posts: 2,575
edited September 2006 in Wanted (WTB) Classifieds
Anyone have a plate amp laying around in the 150 - 300 watt range?

Now that I scored an HSU (from schwarc) and "get" the benefits to my HT, I am starting a DIY sub for the kid's tv room. I just grabbed an SVS driver (from dipiazza) in the flea market to get things started.

I would prefer Bash, but I don't know the differences so with a little education I could be persuaded toward another brand...
Post edited by DollarDave on

Comments

• burdette
    burdette Posts: 1,194
    edited August 2006
    Options
    For the kids' room? Parts Express carries some well-respected plate amps. I've been using their 250w amp for about 4 years with nary a problem, and I used their 1000w amp for a church-sub project last year.

I see they now have some BASH amps - $130 for 300W....

http://www.partsexpress.com/webpage.cfm?webpage_id=3&SO=2&CATID=43&ObjectGroup_ID=505&CFID=3780220&CFTOKEN=53600210

And, outstanding customer service... and a great forum for DIY questions.
  • DollarDave
    edited August 2006
    Options
    anonymouse wrote:
    I have a 100W Jensen amp which you can have for $50 shipped.

I'll strongly consider that, do you think that will be enough to push a 12" SVS ISD? I know that somewhat depends on the box size that I build - I estimate that will be about 18x22x24. That tv room is relatively small like 14 X 15.
  • DollarDave
    edited August 2006
    Options
    I like the sonotube idea and my local Home Depot carries it. The trick was mounting an internal amp. You have a good solution to that problem. I would think that I could go either 16" or 18" sonotube and about 27" - 33" tall. I'll do the math to get at least 6 cu ft of volume. Is the cross-over inherent to the external amp?
  • tryrrthg
    tryrrthg Posts: 1,896
    edited August 2006
    Options
    DaveMuell wrote: