DVD Playback On the XBox 360?

Options
VR3
VR3 Posts: 28,085
edited June 2006 in Video Games
Does anyone use it for this? How does it look, play? etc...

I seriously want to get rid of my DVDP player... and I would love to use my console as it.

How is the sound and picture quality.

Id like to hear from someone reputable and a long term member - no offense.
- Not Tom ::::::: Any system can play Diana Krall. Only the best can play Limp Bizkit.
Post edited by VR3 on

Comments

• mutelight
    mutelight Posts: 1,054
    edited May 2006
    Options
    Well I am a total noob on these forums but I thought I would give you a link to this site which is very reputable.

http://www.hometheaterhifi.com/cgi-bin/shootout.cgi?function=search&articles=125

Not that you care, coming from me, but I find the playback to be rather ho-hum. The $100 HD upconverting DVD players I found to be a lot stronger in performance. But do check out the link nonetheless.
    // Panasonic AE8000 // Pioneer SC-57 // Polk Audio RTi A9 // Polk Audio CSiA6 //
    // Polk Audio FXi A6 // SVS PB12-NSD Subwoofer // Logitech Harmony Ultimate // Pro-Ject Debut III //
    // Oppo BDP-103 // Microsoft Xbox One Day One Edition // Sony Playstation 4 1TB SSHD // Nintendo Wii U //
    Photo Gallery
    Movie and Game Collection
  • Shizelbs
    Shizelbs Posts: 7,433
    edited June 2006
    Options
    The VQ is what you should expect from a video game console. Its nothing remarkable, but better than the PS2 and what I've seen from some real low end grunt ball DVDps. I have yet to try the optical out on my HT.
  • punk-roc
    punk-roc Posts: 1,150
    edited June 2006
    Options
    its ok, i'm not a real video/audio-phile type, but its passable. I thought my Oppo looked and sound much better (when it worked, which was like twice in 5 months). If you want to watch a DVD it wont make you sad, but it wont make you happy either =P

Jason
    2-Channel - So far...
    Pre: Dodd ELP
    DAC: W4S-Dac2