Heavy base for TT worth it?

Options
billbillw
billbillw Posts: 6,211
edited March 2006 in 2 Channel Audio
I'm just getting into vinyl. I don't have a high end TT yet and probably will never have anything beyond a few hundred dollar table (used market). I would like to make what I have sound the best it can though.

Just wondering what you guys think about using a heavy stone (like granite) slab under your turntables. Do you think it helps improve the sound (beyond reducing any problems with skipping/tracking) or is it mostly asthetic? My stand is pretty stable and it doesn't seem to be affected by walking around it or from bass notes, at least not to the point of skipping.
For rig details, see my profile. Nothing here anymore...
Post edited by billbillw on

Comments

• LuSh
    LuSh Posts: 887
    edited March 2006
    Options
    check out skylanstands.com its a one man show by a person named Noel. I use one of his platforms for my Transport and it actually helped, I'd imagine the differences with a TT would be quite a few steps up.
  • billbillw
    edited March 2006
    Options
    LuSh wrote:
    check out skylanstands.com its a one man show by a person named Noel. I use one of his platforms for my Transport and it actually helped, I'd imagine the differences with a TT would be quite a few steps up.

I'm just looking to get a piece from one of the local marble/granite contractors. Low budget definetly.
  • Tour2ma
    Tour2ma Posts: 10,177
    edited March 2006
    Options
    Yes, they're worth it, if all you are on now is a wood shelf. Wood is too "live" and transmits vibration to the TT base which can then find their way into the platter and/ or tonearm.

Somewhere I have a link to a laboratory supply house that sells nicely finished slabs cheap. They're intended for use under lab balances, but work great for TT's.

I'll dig it up and post it...
    More later,
    Tour...
    Vox Copuli