Sda Srs

Options
tlarsen77
tlarsen77 Posts: 13
edited February 2006 in 2 Channel Audio
Hi I am new to club polk and was hopeing to get some expert opinion I have been collecting parts for my alolog room so far I have a pair of Marantz 9 Reissues that I just aquired from a gentlmen in Hong Kong I have a Mcintosh C26 for a preamp and a Thorens TD-124 with a SME 3012 and a Grado Sonata I was just offerd a pair of SDA SRS speaker's for $1600 and wanted to know what a good deal was for these speaker's I have a RT 5000 suround sound system in my home theater room and have been a fan of Polk for years but now I have been into analog for the past couple of years and have an old pair of JBL's that I am trying to upgrade and everyone say's that the SDA's have to been given a chance I would apreciate any advise on what people think of the price of the SDA's Thx
Post edited by tlarsen77 on

Comments

• Polk65
    Polk65 Posts: 1,405
    edited January 2006
    Options
    Welcome to the forum.

The price for SDA's depends on how much the buyer is willing to pay and which model they are. A forum member maintains a Polk Audio appreciation website at www.polksda.com (click the ebay auction guide for a list of previous prices). IMO $1600 is getting towards the high side but not unheard of. Do you have any photos you can upload or serial numbers? Keep in mind, that you may be upgrading the eight tweeters at a cost of $48 each. Perhaps you can use this to negotiate a lower price with the seller.

Follow the links on this page for the SRS descriptions: http://www.polkaudio.com/search/older.php
  • F1nut
    F1nut Posts: 49,825
    edited January 2006
    Options
    One concern to you at this time would be that SRS's can't be used with mono blocks or non-common ground amps unless you can tie the negative outputs together. So, I would try to find out if that is possible with the Marantz amps before buying the SRS's. Great speakers, I hope that they will work for you.