Lets talk freq response....lp vs cd

Options
RuSsMaN
RuSsMaN Posts: 17,987
edited February 27 in Clubhouse Archives
Ok, I am not quite sure how to put all this down, my mind is spinning today, so stay with me:

CD's are limited to what 20KHz? Most CD's don't have much over 15KHz? Records (vinyl) can reach out to 25Khz and beyond....
Some Stylus LP cartridges reach out to 50Khz.....

Musicians, heads up, lets add harmonics/supersonics into the discussion too. Supposedly, take a 21K and 23K sine tone, you can't actually hear it, but the 2K 'beat' it produces is audible?

Do some instruments reach out farther than we can hear, but produce this 'harmonic' or 'beat' at lower frequencies that we CAN hear? (I'm just learning harmonics on my bass)

I have always felt that LP's had a warmth to them, is this what I am hearing? Is the cd format really limited to 20Khz? How does the range of amp figure in, if it is 20 to 20, does it even matter what the source can do?

AND

(per a paragraph at ohmspeakers.com) Most males over 30 can't hear as high as 20Khz. Some say as low as 17Khz. Throw that into the equation, if it holds true.....

Thoughts gentleman?

Russ
Check your lips at the door woman. Shake your hips like battleships. Yeah, all the white girls trip when I sing at Sunday service.
Post edited by RyanC_Masimo on

Comments

• I-SIG
    I-SIG Posts: 2,238
    edited September 2001
    Options
    RuSsMaN,