Build around rt5's?

Options
bms
bms Posts: 182
edited January 2006 in Vintage Speakers
I'm new to home theater, so excuse my lack of knowledge. I'm finally upgrading from my old Sansui integrated amp & Bose 901's. I just acquired a set of RT5's and I'm looking to build a home theater system using the rt5's as the main L/R front speakers. I've been reading that these are mostly used as surround speakers, but they worked fine as L/R speakers in a stereo set-up in a rather large room, so I think I'll use them as my mains. I need a suggestion on which center channel, surrounds, and sub to look at. I'm using an Onkyo TX-SR603X reciever, in a medium sized room (13 x 21), but I want the system to be abled to handle a slightly larger room, as well.

Thank you in advance for your suggestions.
bms
bms
Family Room:
Onkyo TX-RZ920
Outlaw 2200 monoblock amps x 3
Sony UBP-X700
Sony A80J 77” OLED
Polk LSiM 705’s
Polk LSiM 706
Polk LSiM 703’s
Polk RTi4's
Dual SVS PB13-Ultra’s
PC13-Ultra

Bonus Room:
Onkyo TX-SR806
PS3
Panasonic TC-P42G10
Polk RTi10's
Polk CSi5
Polk R50's
SVS PB10-ISD

For sale:
Onkyo TX-SR603X
Post edited by bms on

Comments

• ledhed
    ledhed Posts: 1,088
    edited December 2005
    Options
    For surrounds, I would suggest another pair of RT5s I also have this speaker and LOVE them. I am not so sure about which center to get though
    God shows his love for us in that while we were still sinners, Christ died for us. - Romans 5:8
  • bms
    edited December 2005
    Options
    The RT5's are too large for surrounds according to my wife's tastes, so I'll need to look for something smaller. Are there any other suggestions for surrounds, both Polk or another brand? The CSi3 is the center channel suggestion from Polk's site. I also need to decide about a sub. Do I stick with Polk, or not?
    bms
    bms
    Family Room:
    Onkyo TX-RZ920
    Sony UBP-X700
    Sony A80J 77” OLED
    Polk LSiM 705’s
    Polk LSiM 706
    Polk LSiM 703’s
    Polk RTi4's