Help with Shorted Tube

Options
malikarshad
malikarshad Posts: 527
edited November 2005 in 2 Channel Audio
My tube fuse (1/2 amp fast blow) of right channel keeps on blowing. I checked the manual and it says i should check if the red led is not light then that tube is blown.
But the problem is non of the LED is on as there is no bias current because of blown fuse.
Then how do i go about finding which of the tube is shorted.

BTW its a Cary Tube Amp. Its has Quad El-34's for each channel. The left channel is good but there is the a problem with the right channel.
Here is the link to the amp specs http://www.caryaudio.com/products/audio/cad280sa.shtml

I'm very new to tubes so excuse me if i have said anything incorrectly.

What's the best way to find out which tube is shorted so that i don't keep on blowing fuse. So far I have blown 3 fuses.

Please help..........

Speakers=>Salk Soundscape 8, Soundscape Center,Surrounds-Dali Rubicon LCR, Lsi7
PreAmp, Amp => Marantz AV8801, ATI 6007 amp, Oppo HA-1 DAC
Source => Sonore MicroRendu, Oppo BDP-103, Mede8er 600XD, Dune HD Smart D1, Synology DS1813+(16TB)
Sub - JTR Captivator S2 (Dual 18")
Power - Furman IT-Ref20i on dedicated 30Amp circuit with Furutech GTX-R outlet
Screen=> JVC RS-45 projector Da-Lite HP 133" 2.35
Post edited by malikarshad on

Comments

• organ
    organ Posts: 4,969
    edited November 2005
    Options
    Does the LED light up after replacing the fuse?

Try swapping the left tubes for the right. If the fuse blows on the same side again, it's most likely the amplifier.

Is it still under warranty? Try to contact Cary Beautiful amp btw. Hope you find the problem soon.

If you know any techies that are good with tubes, bring it to the shop. Trial and error is no fun especially when you have 12 power tubes to deal with(too much $$$).

Maurice
  • malikarshad
    edited November 2005
    Options
    organ wrote:
    Does the LED light up after replacing the fuse?
    Maurice