newbie question about adding a Sub

Options
khanhhuynh4u
khanhhuynh4u Posts: 40
edited July 2005 in 2 Channel Audio
hey guys im just getting into hifi audio and im wanting to add a sub to my current setup

first i have NAD C320BEE and Epos ELS, adding a NAD CD player soon and along with speakers cable and interconnect....

ok so how do i add a sub to my reciever? do i need another seperate piece of gear or do i connect to one you the input on my reciever?

also what what you recommend for speakers cable and interconnect along with the CD player for my setup thanks
Post edited by khanhhuynh4u on

Comments

• nellis8166
    nellis8166 Posts: 292
    edited July 2005
    Options
    Keep it simple, run a single sub cable from the pre-amp out from your receiver. I use Monster Cables, but I'm sure there are better choices out there. Set your recv crossover to 80 hrz and calibrate the sub with an spl meter. Shouldn't take more than half an hour. You might have to mess around with sub placement depending on your room.
    RTi10
    CSi5
    RTi28
    SVS PB12-ISD2

Denon 2106(pre/pro)
    Adcom 5503(200x3)

Audioquest Diamondback ICS
    Kimber Kable 8tc biwire(mains and center)

"Don't let your silly dreams fall in between the crack of the bed and the wall."
    -J. James
  • Airplay355
    Airplay355 Posts: 4,298
    edited July 2005
    Options
    Don't run a single cable. Using 2 cables, or 1 cable with a y splitter will give you a +6db increase or something. Anyway, it's significant, and you wouldn't want to waste it by just using one cable. If your receiver doesn't have bass management then use the low pass option on the sub to cross it over. Start out with the volume at 1/4th and adjust from there. You can place your sub in a corner to make it sound louder, but sometimes this gives a boomy sound to the bass. Placement is very important with a sub so try more then one position.
  • khanhhuynh4u
    edited July 2005
    Options