Minimum power for speakers ???

stef_000us
stef_000us Posts: 29
edited May 2002 in Troubleshooting
Hello everyone,

Is there such a concept as a minimal power requirement to get a speaker to reproduce sound at an optimal level?

Here's where my question is coming from. I have a pair of RTI70 as main. Both are biwired with gauge 12. If I listen to music at a low volume and slowly increase the volume, there is a point where the sound suddentely change. Not sure how to phrase this but the sound become a lot richer at a specific power level.

So this is where my question is coming from. Is there really a minimal "power point" where the speaker would kick in and the sound would drastically change? Sorry for all my technical terms :) I am new to the realms of home theater.

Thanks,

Stef
Post edited by stef_000us on

Comments

• RuSsMaN
    RuSsMaN Posts: 17,987
    edited May 2002
    What receiver are you using?

I wouldn't think there should be a sudden, drastic change in volume or clarity, unless your gear was old, and maybe had a dirty pot.....

Those speakers should attenuate smoothly and evenly reagrdless, and should be pleasing with anything from 1 to 250 watts or so....(of good, clean, sweet sweet power)

Cheers,
    Russ
    Check your lips at the door woman. Shake your hips like battleships. Yeah, all the white girls trip when I sing at Sunday service.
  • TroyD
    TroyD Posts: 13,077
    edited May 2002
    agreed, I think folks would be surprised at how much (or little, really) power that speakers really consume......my little 15wpc Marantz will drive any most speakers to an uncomfortable level.

Having said that, exactly, they shouldn't have any dramatic changes in volume.

Troy
    I plan for the future. - F1Nut
  • stef_000us
    edited May 2002
    Hi Russ and Troy,