SDA 2B's

dbratton
dbratton Posts: 6
edited May 2005 in Vintage Speakers
I recently found a pair of SDA 2B's in a local Pawn Shop for $150. Each loudspeaker had a blown midrange. Replacing those cost me $120 total, so I think I have a pretty good investment here. They sound great by themselves, but I just added a PSW303 subwoofer. This seems to have had not only the expected benefit of enhancing the bass, but has opened up the mids and highs a bit. Is there a reason for this or am I just imagining it?

BTW, I have never used a subwoofer before, so I am open to any suggestions on how to best employ it. Thanks
Post edited by dbratton on

Comments

• Frank Z
    Frank Z Posts: 5,860
    edited May 2005
    If you didn't get the interconnect cable with the speakers, build one. Your SDA's should be 6-8 feet apart, facing straight ahead, and pushed up against the rear wall. Properly set up they won't need a sub.
    9/11 - WE WILL NEVER FORGET!! (<---<<click)
    2005-06 Club Polk Football Pool Champion!! :D
  • dorokusai
    dorokusai Posts: 25,573
    edited May 2005
    Are the speakers hooked up through your subwoofer? or directly to your amplifier?
    CTC BBQ Amplifier, Sonic Frontiers Line3 Pre-Amplifier and Wadia 581 SACD player. Speakers? Always changing but for now, Mission Argonauts I picked up for $50 bucks, mint.
  • dbratton
    edited May 2005
    Already built the interconnect cable and have them set up properly.

The subwoofer is connected to a LFE output on my receiver.
  • dorokusai
    dorokusai Posts: 25,573
    edited May 2005
    Welcome to the forum BTW :)

I think it's most likely a perceived improvement, but at least it's not negative. You made a good investment, it's a great speaker.

You have the subwoofer hooked up as simple as it gets, so no changes there IMO. Are you handling subwoofer adjustments at the subwoofer or with your AVR?