Where can I buy modern tweeters for Monitor 5B's?

Options
62vauxhall
62vauxhall Posts: 20
edited April 9 in Vintage Speakers
Last year I posted about some Monitor 5B's I had just acquired. I replaced capacitors along with one woofer and JB Welded the woofer magnets in place. The woofer in one of the cabinets I got was not a Polk so I sourced one on e-bay.

I have been listening to them ever since and overall I find the high frequencies irritating. FWIW, my natural hearing has degraded and I have been using hearing aids for the past 5 years or so. At the time I obtained these speakers, I read a considerable number of recommendations to swap out the original SL2000 tweeters for a newer replacement. The reason being to tame down the highs.

Since that is something I think I can appreciate, I'd like to learn where these modern tweeters can be obtained and what the cost would be shipped to Canada. The tweeter models I saw mentioned were RD-0194 and RD-0198. I believe it is the RD-0194 I'd need for Monitor 5B's equipped with SL-2000's but I am not 100% certain.

Best Answer

• F1nut
    F1nut Posts: 49,850
    Answer ✓
    Options
    Brock, you misunderstood what the OP was saying.

OP, you have to call Polk to order parts. You want the RD0(zero)194-1. You can also buy them from The Speaker Exchange and on eBay.
    Political Correctness'.........defined

"A doctrine fostered by a delusional, illogical minority and rabidly promoted by an unscrupulous mainstream media, which holds forth the proposition that it is entirely possible to pick up a t-u-r-d by the clean end."

President of Club Polk

Answers

• heiney9
    heiney9 Posts: 25,092
    edited April 9
    Options
    Firstly, where did you read "a considerable number of recommendations to swap out the original SL2000 tweeters for a newer replacement"?

There is only (1) replacement that was designed to be used. RD-0194.

There are either available from Polk or Midwest Speaker Repair.