Rt1000 subs clicking an/off

Options
Good morning
I have a pair of rt1000 floor standing speakers with powered subs built in.
I really enjoy the speakers and subs.

My annoyance is the subs turn on (relay clicks) when there is a bigger demand for subs. And relays click off when there is no demand for a sub.

In a quiet movie when there is an explosion the subs click in in the middle of explosion and bass comes out a second later.

When listening to music they keep clicking on/off depending on demand for lows.

Even with receiver off when I walk close to speakers barefoot on a wooden floor relays click in occasionally.

Is there a way or tweak to keep relays to subs on when I use receiver? I am an electrician and I am good with soldering and tweaking. I have Yamaha tsr 700 receiver

Thank you in advance

Comments

• SeleniumFalcon
    SeleniumFalcon Posts: 3,518
    Options
    Hello,
    Welcome to the Polk forum. I've emailed you the schematic for the amplifier. In all likelihood the problem is related to the circuit protection area.
    Good luck!
  • eldario
    eldario Posts: 5
    Options
    Thank you . Speakers work fine when music is set to high and there is constant demand for lows . It has been like this for since I got them
    I thought this is a normal (annoying) operation
  • SeleniumFalcon
    Options
    Are you feeding a full range signal or a filtered signal to the bass section?
  • eldario
    Options
    I use 2 speakers only using speaker wire. My settings on receiver in this setup are ‘no sub’ front speakers Large. So I assume this is unfiltered
    I also tried connecting with rca and removing jumpers from speakers . I assume this is filtered
    I got same results with relays clicking
  • SeleniumFalcon
    Options
    The bass section of the speakers has a built in low pass filter so connecting it with a full range signal is the best method. I believe you have it connected correctly.
  • ParkerRamos
    Options