Monitor 10

Options
Hi

I am new to Polk and recently acquired a set of Monitor 10 series 2.

They are rare here overseas in Europe.

Initially they sound great but perhaps a smidge forward I really can't tell.

My room is 35 m2 so fairly large. I listen to all kind of music.

I want to have a relaxed presentation of the music so I thought of trying a HK receiver like the 330 or perhaps a twin powered model.

Any opinions on these particular models?

Thanks.

KR JCT

Comments

• boston1450
    boston1450 Posts: 7,474
    edited January 14
    Options
    Welcome to the forum. Congrats on your new to you speakers. There are many here that own/have the monitor 10. I've had & enjoyed many HK receivers & liked them all. Great choice. We have members here who knows more that i know when it comes to that model @mhardy6647. Welcome again. Randy, Maine USA..
    Randy/Maine
  • dromunds
    dromunds Posts: 9,984
    Options
    The twin powered HKs are much better. They are under appreciated
  • jct74_dk
    jct74_dk Posts: 33
    Options
    Do they have the same sonic signature as the ones with one transformer?

Should I go for the 430, 730 or 930?
  • dromunds
    Options
    I have a twin powered HK 670 that I think is very nice and they sell for very reasonable prices. The 730 is also very nice no experience with 930. Someone will chime in with more
  • Al_Swearengen
    Options
    I used an HK 730 with my Monitor 7As and agree with the recommendation. I think any of the high current twin HK models (430,630, 730, 930 twin) are know well, but the there .

The SL2000 tweeters are known to be a little bit harsh, so replacing them with the RDO194s is always highly recommended .
    FKA: anton.chigurh (see profile page)
  • jct74_dk
    Options
    So in your opinion they have identical sonics just more power with higher number?

I don't know if the single power 330 is going to be to weak for the 10 and my room.

It should be very smooth I heard.
  • dromunds
    Options