RTA12 b’s what are the best budget upgrades?

Options
I have a pair of RTA12b with binding posts snapped off. I am thinking of bringing them in to be repaired and maybe have some upgrades and maintenance. I’m new to all this but I love how they look and sound. What should I ask to be done?

Answers

• Schurkey
    Schurkey Posts: 2,100
    edited October 2023
    Options
    1. If "budget" is a concern, fix 'em yourself. Why pay to have someone else do easy work?
    2. First order of business would be to replace the broken binding posts. Multiple price points for replacement posts, from "Cheap Chinese" to "Insane".
    3. Lift the fiber packing back into position. It droops down over time. FREE
    4A. Verify that every driver is actually working. A toilet-paper or paper-towel cardboard core against your ear, with the other end directly in front of each driver in turn helps. FREE unless you find a failed driver.
    4B. Replace the tweeters with the RD0-194 units.
    5. Assure that the drivers and bassive radiator are appropriately sealed to the cabinet, and the cabinet itself is reasonably air-tight. FREE unless you find a problem.
    6. If used on carpet instead of hard-surface floors, install spikes on the bottom of the cabinet. When it was me, I used Grade 8 hardware-store bolts with the heads cut off, and sharpened on a bench grinder. Ordinary flat washers and nuts to lock 'em into place. However, there's a vast array of premade speaker spikes at pricing from "reasonable" to "insane". I'm thinking that the standard Polk thread size is 1/4-20, but perhaps someone will confirm that.