$300'ish and under preamp suggestions?

Options
I want to change my setup to a dedicated preamp to control my devices.

I have a budget.

I don't mind used equipment. Nor do I mind chi-fi items.

At the moment, the Schitt stuff looks interesting. I've got my DAC options narrowed down to other manufacturers, but finding a $300'ish pre that I think will be better than the non-optimal setup I have right now is hard. I'm way outta the loop on this.

Thoughts, hive mind?
The Thrifty Setups in Mah House Big thrifty stereo in the basement w/ my custom SDA-1C (built with help from kind forum members) * Beautiful 1966 MCM GE console upgraded w/ Bluetooth, Dual turntable, and Paradigm speakers in family room * Swanky 1980 Realistic system and great TEAC eq with dancing colored lights in the living room * custom 5B on a system for my Dad * Ye Olde college stereo in the garage

Comments

• skipshot12
    skipshot12 Posts: 1,023
    edited February 2023
    Options
    Since I have zero experience with the newer stuff I can only make suggestions of vintage gear.

I assume you’re talking strictly two channel…
    Have a question first, what will you be plugging into your preamp, mostly analog, mostly digital or a combination of both?
  • WLDock
    WLDock Posts: 3,073
    edited February 2023
    Options
    There's stuff out there in the new or used $150-$300 per component price if you look and stay diligent with your search (ebay, hifishark.com, search tempest.com, audio forums, etc.). Can piece together a decent system (Preamp, Amp, DAC, Streamer) in the $600 - $1000 range.... or can find an integrated.
    I've seen the following items at these prices over the last several months, just to show whats possible piecing together an under $600 system > Saga preamp-$150 / Geshelli Labs J2 dac - $150 / B&K ST3030 amp - $180 / WiiM Mini streamer - $77

PREAMPS
    Schiit Saga, Saga+, Saga S
    B&K PT5 or REF 5 S2, PRO-5
    Anthem TLP-1

DACs
    Geshelli Labs
    Topping

AMPS