SDA 2A and NAD C298

Options
So I recently acquired a nice set of SDA’s and love them. Have upgraded tweeters on the way, really really digging these things. Was driving them with an older JVC Super Class A/B amp and decided to go big on an upgrade so ordered a NAD c298.

Was very proud of myself thinking this new amp will make my SDA’s sing, but reading through the NAD manual I am second guessing myself. I was/am aware that a common ground amp is required but thought most everything outside of dual mono would be good.

Here is what the c298 manual says:

• The blue terminals must never be connected to ground (earth).
• Never connect the blue terminals together or to any common ground
device.
• Do not connect the output of this amplifier to any headphone adapter,
speaker switch or any device that uses common ground for left and right channel

So my question is, is this amp compatible with the SDA’s? I am not technical enough to interpret the above. Any help is really appreciated.

Comments

• F1nut
    F1nut Posts: 49,793
    Options
    I'm going to say no.
    Political Correctness'.........defined

"A doctrine fostered by a delusional, illogical minority and rabidly promoted by an unscrupulous mainstream media, which holds forth the proposition that it is entirely possible to pick up a t-u-r-d by the clean end."

President of Club Polk

• japhi
    japhi Posts: 6
    edited September 2022
    Options
    Damn, what a mistake that was then. Very quick way to lose money. Guess the SDA’s are for sale then. The one amp I buy is not compatible, what are the odds.
  • txcoastal1
    txcoastal1 Posts: 13,132
    Options
    Call NAD, you may also contact Crutchfield as the are dealers for this item
    2-channel: Modwright KWI-200 Integrated, Dynaudio C1-II Signatures
    Desktop rig: LSi7, Polk 110sub, Dayens Ampino amp, W4S DAC/pre, Sonos, JRiver
    Gear on standby: Melody 101 tube pre, Unison Research Simply Italy Integrated