Stereo receiver and amplifier

Options
Can you connect a Yamaha CR-800 to a Yamaha CA-800 and use as a receiver/amp system?

Best Answers

Answers

• pitdogg2
    pitdogg2 Posts: 24,579
    Options
    You're trying to hook up a receiver to an integrated amp? What are you trying to accomplish here? One is 70wpc the other 45' ish wpc, what is your end goal?
  • RJS6
    RJS6 Posts: 3
    Options
    Thank you for your input. I'm trying to put a system together with good power and great sound. I already have the cr800 receiver and have just purchased the ca800 amplifier. I'm a novice vintage hifi lover and would like to know if it would be worth combining the two of these together in a system, with turntable, cd and tape deck.
  • mhardy6647
    mhardy6647 Posts: 33,046
    edited September 2022
    Options
    Emlyn wrote: »
    Both have preamplifier outputs and main inputs so either could be connected to the other assuming everything is still in working order in them. Good question though on why do it.

The CA-800 was/is an excellent midpower (for its time) stereo integrated amplifier.
    The CR-800 should be a very good midline stereo receiver, although I don't have one (I wish I did!) and so I cannot vouch for it personally.

The only good reason to roll the receiver into the mix (not that a good reason is really necessary! ;) would be to use the CR-800 as a tuner, IMO. EDIT: Yamaha's separate "Tape Out" selector makes this very easy. Oops, the CR-800 doesn't have this, sorry! :p

@Emlyn hits the nail on the head if you want to use the CR-800 preamp, but -- the other (and perhaps more 'sensible') approach to combine the two components, FWIW, would be to use the CR-800 as a tuner (only). Set the Selector to FM, turn the CR-800 speakers to "off" and connect the tape output jacks (tape 1 or 2) of the CR-800 to any line level input ("TUNER" would be a good choice :) ) on the CA-800.

xtou0xakwtbk.png
    just a borrowed photo from teh webz