Monitor 7b magnet glueing

Options
bbabb
bbabb Posts: 12
edited July 2022 in Vintage Speakers
So, I just picked up some nice original Monitor 7bs and have really enjoyed reading through this forum and all the info out there on these speakers. I’m really new to this vintage audio world but loving it so far. I plan on recapping the crossovers and doing some of the other little upgrades I’ve read about here eventually. Right now I just want to get the magnets glued up before that becomes an issue. Pulled the drivers out and found that the magnets are not perfectly centered compared to the metal plates they are sandwiched between. The speakers sound great and the drivers move freely but I just wanted to check and see if it was normal for them to be slightly off center or if that’s a sign that they have shifted some? I’m sure the magnets are pretty strong but I can’t get them to slide at all so I’m assuming they are still glued tight? See attached photo to see what I mean. I’m talking a couple 32nds of an inch difference. I just don’t want to glue them if there is something off. Anyone else seen them be slightly off center? Thanks!

hruxrwrzhttm.jpeg

Best Answers

• F1nut
    F1nut Posts: 49,856
    Answer ✓
    Options
    No need for all that crap.

With your finger tips spread evenly around the cone gently push in and let the cone spring back with your finger tips still touching the cone. Do it a few times making sure the finger tip pressure is evenly spread.

No scraping sound, glue the magnets immediately.
    Political Correctness'.........defined

"A doctrine fostered by a delusional, illogical minority and rabidly promoted by an unscrupulous mainstream media, which holds forth the proposition that it is entirely possible to pick up a t-u-r-d by the clean end."

President of Club Polk

• bbabb
    Answer ✓
    Options
    @F1nut Thank you for your help!!

Answers

• Gardenstater
    Gardenstater Posts: 4,203
    edited July 2022
    Options