How can I tell the generation of my 2.3 TL speakers and if they they have have been upgraded?

cobcw
cobcw Posts: 7
edited June 2022 in Vintage Speakers
I recently picked up a set of 2.3TLs from a local estate sale. I am new to vintage audio equipment and did not really know what I was buying at the time, but I knew that I wanted them. I was wondering how can I determine which generation the speakers are and if they have had any modifications done to them. Any assistance that can be provided would be greatly appreciated.
whn2f4s0ri3v.jpg
9bautcxwpnqn.jpg
zmoiko9jau04.jpg
jo47m5boh4w5.jpg

Answers

• Viking64
    Viking64 Posts: 6,646
    It looks like you might have updated/upgraded tweeters. The domes on my original 2.3TL tweeters were chrome but the modern replacements I bought from Polk about 4-5 years ago resemble yours.

Also, the wood at the top and bottom is different than mine. It appears to be thicker than anything I have ever seen.
  • Gardenstater
    Gardenstater Posts: 4,136
    edited June 2022
    Ditto on the top and bottom caps. Those look like SL3000s to me though because of the foam ring around the dome. Those are 5th generation according to the SDA Handbook.
    George / NJ

Polk 7B main speakers, std. mods+ (1979, orig owner)
    Martin Logan Dynamo sub w/6ft 14awg Power Cord
    Crown D150 amp
    Logitech Squeezebox Touch Streamer w/EDO applet
    iFi nano iDSD DAC
    iPurifier3
    iDefender w/ iPower PS
    Custom Steve Wilson 1m UPOCC Interconnect
    iFi Mercury 0.5m OFHC continuous cast copper USB cable
    Custom Ribbon Speaker Cables, 5ft long, 4N Copper, 14awg, ultra low inductance
    Custom Vibration Isolation Speaker Stands and Sub Platform
  • Toolfan66
    Toolfan66 Posts: 16,834
    You don't have upgraded tweeters, they definitely look like SL3000's.

Yeah the wood caps are definitely not stock, almost like a clubfoot set of SDA's.. :D

Other then that they look clean..
  • pitdogg2
    pitdogg2 Posts: 24,477