Large or small?

I have RT1000i's for mains, CS245i for center, and fx300i's for surrounds (no stand-alone sub). Right now, the mains are set to "large" and the center to "small" --- which should be a given. For the surrounds, the manual recommends setting them to "small."

Correct me if I'm wrong, but isn't it recommended not to send all the bass to the subwoofer because it loads it down, or something? If this is true, isn't that what the recommended configuration would be doing? Since all the speakers but the mains would be set to "small" (and the subwoofer set to "off"), then the mains would get all the bass, correct? Then, since the mains have the built-in subwoofer, doesn't this subwoofer get most of the bass? Since the subwoofers are small, is this recommended?

I'm pretty new at this home theater stuff, so I could be way off-base on this. Would it be bad to set the surrounds to large?
Post edited by aaburto99 on

Comments

• OrangeToupee
    OrangeToupee Posts: 488
    edited May 2002
    The recommendation for your setup is, in my opinion, correct. Set your RT100i's to 'large,' your CS245i to 'small,' and your F/X 300i's to 'small.' Set your subwoofer(stand alone) to 'No.' This would funnel all of your real bass signals to your mains; with your speakers, that's what you would want to do.

I don't know what you mean by loading down the subwoofer. That's what it's there for, to be loaded down with bass.

If you get a stand alone subwoofer, then set that to 'yes.'
  • Ron-P
    Ron-P Posts: 8,516
    edited May 2002
    Correct me if I'm wrong, but isn't it recommended not to send all the bass to the subwoofer because it loads it down, or something?

Mains to 'large' center and surrounds to 'small'. The subs are designed to take all the bass.

Would it be bad to set the surrounds to large?