RC80i No Bass

Options
Hi, I recently bought a pair of new RC80i speakers after reading all the rave reviews. Before cutting a big hole in the paster board, I rigged them up to my technics amplifier to test them out. I'm new to recessed speakers but have used many standard bookshelf and studio reference monitors from various brands over the years. Although the RC80i is capable of creating a lot of volume, they sound incredibly thin and tinny. (While the volume was down I was confusing them with my echo dot speaker!) I've tried dropping them in a wooden box to see if that helps, which is does marginally but nowhere near enough. Is this standard for the units that aren't installed into a wall / ceiling? and is there anything I can do to improve the base response during installation? will installing them in a wooden cabinet help? The great reviews I've read, (some of which say these give you the best in class bass for a ceiling speaker) are a county mile from the sound I'm hearing, so I'm assuming I either have a defective set or I'm doing something wrong. Any help or advice is much appreciated. Cheers

Comments

• Inscrutabl0915
    Options
    Have had other in-wall/ceiling (not these, but may be shopping for some soon) ... these are designed for an infinite baffle mount, so you will need a very large enclosure to mimic that ... a bare minimum of 10x the driver displacement. Perhaps you did not? Not sure you can get the requisite Thiele parameter (Vas) or at least the excursion (Vmax) with which to calculate Vas.
  • Inscrutabl0915
    Options
    If not, on the conservative side, let’s use another known 8-inch driver ... say the Dayton RS225 ... Vas is about 2 cu ft, so you need a 20 cu ft box.
  • F1nut
    F1nut Posts: 49,802
    edited December 2020
    Options
    They need an enclosure, which will be the space behind your wall/ceiling.
    Political Correctness'.........defined